Ladies U16 Divison Two Final

posted 21 May 2012, 14:52 by Unknown user

Kilmurry Ibrickane are the u16 Division 2 champions for 2012 after a comprehensive victory over Cooraclare in the final of this year's competition.

The majority of the damage was done in the first half, where Kilmurry registered 6-4 to Cooraclare's 0-4. Corner forward Ciara Hickey was in lethal form and as early as the second minute she slipped inside the Cooraclare defence and scored the first of what would be five goals for her in this game. She also recorded a quick fire hat trick in the first half as she bagged another two goals inside the opening ten minutes. Tara Comber added a goal and two points after Louise O'Gorman and Lisa Falsey had put Cooraclare on the scoreboard in the 10th  and 12th  minutes. This left the scoreboard reading Kilmurry 5-2 Cooraclare 0-2 with just 5 minutes to go to half time. Hickey then bagged her fourth goal in the 28th minute. Cooraclare responded with a point from Falsey again but Aoibhe King and Tara Comber pointed to stretch Kilmurry's lead again. Falsey got her third point of the game in first half stoppage time to leave the half time score reading Kilmurry 6-4 Cooraclare 0-4.


The second half exploded into life just as the first half had and Ciara McCarthy got Kilmurry's seventh goal inside the opening minute. Cooraclare responded in kind through Lisa O'Dea just a minute later, but this would prove to be their final score of the game. From here on in Kilmurry were rampant and Tara Comber scored 1-1 in a minute to quench any hope of a comeback. Chloe Maloney added another two points either side of a Ciara McCarthy goal to leave Kilmurry 9-7 to 1-4 to the good with just six minutes gone in the second half. The impressive Ciara Hickey wasn't finished either and she added another 1-2 to bring her personal tally to an incredible 5-2. Chloe Maloney got her third and fourth points of the game in the closing stages to leave the final score reading Kilmurry 10-11 Cooraclare 1-4. Captain Maura Garvey accepted the trophy as another space was filled in the Kilmurry Ibrickane trophy cabinet.


Kilmurry Ibrickane

Caitlin Campbell, Lauren McCarthy, Niamh Sexton, Gemma O'Neill, Maura Garvey (c), Rebecca Doohan, Aine Cunningham, Ciara McCarthy (2-0), Chloe Moloney (0-4), Molly Walsh, Tara Comber (3-4, 3f), Eileen Lynch, Ciara Hickey (5-2, 1f), Aoibhe King (0-1) , Nicole Doherty.

Subs: Katie O'Flaherty, Kiah Baker, Emma Coughlan, Deirdre Lynch, Claudia Doohan, Jackie Johannsen, Ciara McDonnell, Sarah Maloney, Tara Lernihan



Stephanie O'Donoghue, Aoife Lillis, Elaine Kelly, Megan Downes, Aoibheann O'Sullivan, Sarah Qunilivan (c), Eimear Meade, Aine Looney, Sinead Burke, Lisa Falsey (0-3), Ciara Golden, Louise O'Gorman (0-1), Caoilfhionn Morrissey, Lisa O'Dea (1-0), Aisling Morrissey.

Subs: Niamh Morrissey, Nicole Downes, Grace Quinlivan, Caoimhe Browne, Roisin Considine.