Div 1 Primary Schools Final

posted 26 Jun 2012, 13:25 by Unknown user

By Derrick Lynch.

Kilmurry Ibrickane captured their fourth Primary Schools Div 1 title in a row by defeating neighbours Cooraclare in Kilmihil. The game was effectively over as a contest in the first half as some terrific interchanges between the Kilmurry forwards and midfield saw them lead at half time by 2-16 to 1-1. The majority of the damage was done by the outstanding Dermot Coughlan, who contributed no less than 1-11 in the first half. Dermot Coughlan (2) and Paudie Murrihy opened the scoring for Kilmurry before Caoilfhinn O’Dea raised the first green flag of the game after being sent through by Zack Whelehan. Dermot Coughlan then pointed four in a row before O’Dea added another point to his own tally to leave the scoreboard reading Kilmurry 1-8 Cooraclare 0-0 inside the opening ten minutes. Cooraclare got off the mark through a well struck penalty from Colin McNamara. Any thoughts of a comeback were quickly quenched though as O’Dea got his second point of the game before Coughlan hit three in a row to really leave Kilmurry in control. Wing back Daniel Walsh also got in on the act with a fine brace of scores. Coughlan bagged two more points for his team before racing through to find the back of the net just before half time. The final score of the half came from Sean McNamara for Cooraclare to leave the half time score reading Kilmurry 2-16 Cooraclare 1-1.

The second half began at a much slower pace than the first but Kilmurry still registered four points through Eamonn Hanrahan, Diarmuid King, Adam Burke and Zach Whelehan inside the opening ten minutes. Cooraclare then struck for their second goal of the game as a high ball into the Kilmurry defence was knocked to the net by Colin McNamara. Kilmurry responded with a goal of their own though as Diarmuid King’s long range effort found its way to the net to leave the score Kilmurry 3-20 to 2-1 ahead midway through the second half. Dermot Coughlan (4) and Zach Whelehan rounded off the Kilmurry tally in the closing stages to secure victory for Kilmurry on a scoreline of 3-25 to 2-1. Dermot Coughlan finished the game with a hugely impressive personal tally of 1-15, and 8 of the starting 15 for Kilmurry got their names on the scoresheet. Accepting the trophy, captain Dermot Coughlan dedicated the victory to former teammate William Winder.



Kilmurry: Kevin Tubridy, Padraig Conway, David Sexton, Maurice Donnellan; Saul Boyd, Diarmuid King (1-1), Daniel Walshe (0-2); Dermot Coughlan(1-15), Caoilfhionn O’Dea (1-2); Conor Sexton, Paudie Murrihy (0-1), Tadgh Flynn; Eamonn Hanrahan (0-1), Zack Whelehan (0-2), Adam Burke (0-1).

Subs: Damien Lynch for Flynn, Kieran O’Brien for Burke, Adam O’Connor for Hanrahan, David Montgomery for Sexton, Brendan Sexton for Conway.

Cooraclare: Dean Cunningham, Brian O’Neill, Mark Lillis, Tomas Browne; Luke Considine, Fergal Donnellan, Paidi Hehir; Sean McNamara (0-1), Colm Morrissey; Shane Lillis, Colin McNamara (2-0), Eoin O’Driscoll; Cathal O’Gorman, Davy Martyn, Diarmuid Donnellan.

Subs: Ronan Lillis for O’Gorman.